Together in the Garden of Love, 6:2-3 #45

She

2 “My beloved has gone down to his garden
    to the beds of spices,
to graze in the gardens
    and to gather lilies.
I am my beloved’s and my beloved is mine;
    he grazes among the lilies.”

Song of Solomon 6:2-3, ESV

The garden in the Song of Solomon always has represented true intimacy. It’s a quiet, gentle and a cherished place, and most importantly, the favorite spot of true rest and gentle communion. It’s also the place the Lord went to pray, with his band of sleepy disciples, John 18:1.

It’s a place of wonder and joy for the believer (at least, that’s what it supposed to be) and where there is a “bed of spices.” In the “garden,” which is mentioned twice for emphasis in these verses, we discover that the Shulamite is drawn to this place of “spices.” A major component of the anointing oil used in the temple was made up of spices, (Exodus 25:6).

He leads his flock–he after all is the good shepherd, and he’ll assemble them together, and keep a watchful eye over them, (John 10:4).

Lilies, again are mentioned twice in these two verses (13x in the Bible). These lilies seem to connect with the sense of beauty as well. For the true believer it’s more than a place of cozy fellowship–it’s the place where righteousness is given out freely. Jesus uses this idea (using the example of king Solomon himself) as an example to us of his total care for each one, (Luke 12:27).

Verse 3 is a pivotal verse, it implies an “ownership” or commitment to each other. I think it takes on a feeling of consecration. The real believer who is intimate with the Lord Jesus understands that they are fully connected to him, and wonder of wonders, he is completely committed to us.

This is critical. We’re completely his, and he intends to be our total provider–he meets us–both justifies, and sanctifies us. We are his, and he is ours. And no one can pluck us out of his hand. What a wonderful thought of total and complete commitment. We are his!

My Father, which gave them me, is greater than all; and no man is able to pluck them out of my Father’s hand. My Father, which gave them me, is greater than all; and no man is able to pluck them out of my Father’s hand.

John 10:27-28, KJV

Published by Pastor Bryan Lowe

Studying God's Word is my joy. I want you to understand that there is nothing greater than a life given to Him. I'm an ordained pastor who lives in Alaska.