Getting Help, 6:1, #44

Others

“Where has your beloved gone,
    O most beautiful among women?
Where has your beloved turned,
    that we may seek him with you?”

Song of Solomon 6:1

Sarcasm is defined “as the use of irony to mock or convey contempt” (Merriam-Webster.). Maybe that’s what these ladies are doing, but, it could also be a statement of support. IDK. But, personally, I tend to think that the first one is correct. But I’m rather cynical when I look at fallen people. Different commentaries say different things.

Sometimes we do and say things that we regret later. Maybe these women who attacked the Shulamite regretted their words? We reveal a depth of our spirits when we say things without really thinking. It seems sin effects both the accuser and the accused in different ways.

“The words of a person’s mouth are deep waters, a flowing river, a fountain of wisdom.”

Proverbs 18:4

I suppose the tone of the words–maybe the perceived emotion is the clincher.

But it does seem that they want to help her find him. The last part of this verse there seems to be a willingness to get involved in her search. And probably that’s why we need the body of Christ. Gifted (and not so gifted) people who will reach into our lives and help us out.

That’s what the Body is for. We need encouragement at times to find our beloved (Jesus) and to enter into deeper levels of intimacy.

“I would go to the deeps a hundred times to cheer a downcast spirit. It is good for me to have been afflicted, that I might know how to speak a word in season to one that is weary.”

   Charles Spurgeon

Published by Pastor Bryan Lowe

Studying God's Word is my joy. I want you to understand that there is nothing greater than a life given to Him. I'm an ordained pastor who lives in Alaska.