1000 Pieces of Silver, #64

Pieces of Silver

“Solomon owned a vineyard in Baal-hamon.
He leased the vineyard to tenants.
Each was to bring for his fruit
one thousand pieces of silver.”

“I have my own vineyard.
The one thousand are for you, Solomon,
but two hundred for those who take care of its fruits.”

Song of Solomon 8:11-12, CSB

This is one of the more obscure passages of the book. It mystifies a lot of pastors and commentators. I’ve found a lot of different interpretations but they all vary. But that’s ok. We just need to do our best, and allow the Holy Spirit to use it anyway. After all, he inspired this passage and knows it perfectly.

The issue seems to be one of value.

The vineyard seems to be a productive one, and it’s worth owning. It most likely was a prime one that produced a ton of grapes. Solomon decided he would not be directly involved, but decided to lease it to tenants that would supervise and cultivate it. The tenants paid Solomon 1000 pieces of silver.

The lesson seems to focus on those who serve the bride.

The work is serving Christ’s beloved–the Church of Jesus. The workers in the vineyards are simply tenants. They labor and work hard (at least if they love their work) and many, if asked, would pay for the privilege of serving this way. Ask any pastor, elder or teacher–most embrace this work.

Personally, to serve Jesus in the Church is my calling. It’s my joy. Yes, at times I sweat (and may even complain a little) but I love to serve him like this. I seldom need a great deal of motivation, (a break now and is ok, when needed) but I wake up every morning thrilled that I can serve, even in a small way.

My real work is mostly prayer.

I recognize this and I must make it my priority. When I pray for the Church, it mixes others who are praying–like paint gets stirred up in a hardware store. It becomes true intercession. My voice, and my Baptist brothers, and Methodist sisters, blend into something that does vineyard work.

“Give yourselves to prayer and the ministry of the Word. If you do not pray, God will probably lay you aside from your ministry, as He did me, to teach you to pray.”

     Robert Murray McCheyne

B

F

Published by Pastor Bryan Lowe

Studying God's Word is my joy. I want you to understand that there is nothing greater than a life given to Him. I'm an ordained pastor who lives in Alaska.