The Conclusion: The Spice Mountains, #66

“Run away with me, my love, and be like a gazelle or a young stag on the mountains of spices.”

Song of Solomon 8:14, CSB

Well, this is the final post in our study of the Song of Solomon. We’ve traveled together through many thoughts and ideas. I hope you’ve discovered a real sense that Jesus has been pursuing you through your entire life. All that has happened has been part of his plan to bring you closer to him.

Verse 14 ends with a touching word picture of a love that’s always seems to be moving. Running like a gazelle, it jumps all over piles and piles of spices. There is nothing static and stolid about our relationship with Jesus, we walk with him and he’s always moving us up and closer to the Father.

Spices are things of beauty and fragrance.

The idea of spices here is they declare her satisfaction and happiness over her marriage to him. Their relationship has a wonderful scent, and she’s profoundly blessed. She understands that. Mountains here declare immensity, and the word picture is really wonderful, it fits quite well here.

They are running together.

The hard and difficult path that ascends is made easier when we understand he’s running along side of us. The road can be difficult. I know that being his follower is a challenge sometimes, but every step is precious when he’s with us. As we keep in step with him, he moves us up to the mountain peak.

“The Lord my Lord is my strength;
he makes my feet like those of a deer
and enables me to walk on mountain heights!”

Habakkuk 3:19

If you really want to understand this book deeper, I would suggest “Hind’s Feet on High Places” by Hannah Hurnard. It’s easy to read, but it’s packed with things that are simple, and yet profound.

B

Published by Pastor Bryan Lowe

Studying God's Word is my joy. I want you to understand that there is nothing greater than a life given to Him. I'm an ordained pastor who lives in Alaska.