He’s Been Calling You

As we read this little book we realize that it’s not like any other.

This book found in the center of the Bible is just eight chapters long, and yet it communicates a fierce love between a king and a simple shepherdess. It’s intense and it is loving. I believe that this is God’s heartbeat for people everywhere. He passionately wants far more than we have dreamed possible.

The Song of Solomon Reveals Jesus’ Love for You

My Intention is Very Simple

I want to present this book as the love story between Jesus Christ and the believer. There are several interpretations of the Song of Solomon, many are valid and definitely worth considering.

I will be approaching this “speaker-by-speaker” rather than verse-by-verse. I desire to teach simply and with a devotional perspective in mind. I certainly welcome any input via my email below.

One weird thought. Rabbi Akiba, one of Judaism’s greatest scholars, said that if the other books of the Bible are holy, the Song of Songs is by far the “holy of holies” (Megillah 7a). He also stated that “the world attained its value only on the day when the Song of Songs was given to Israel” (Yadayim iii. 5).

Charles Spurgeon

Evangelist, 1834-1892

 “We see our Saviour’s face in almost every page of the Bible, but here we see His heart and feel His love to us…We cannot appreciate the spirituality of this book unless God’s Spirit shall help us”

C.I. Scofield

Theologian, 1843-1921

 “Nowhere in Scripture does the unspiritual mind tread upon ground so mysterious and incomprehensible as in this book, while the saintliest men and women of the ages have found it a source of pure and exquisite delight”

Matthew Poole

Puritan Writer, 1624-1679

 “Song of Solomon has no charm in it for the unspiritual ears. The truth is, this book requires a sober and pious, not a lascivious and foolish reader”

I will readily admit that I stand on the shoulders of giants. I have walked with Jesus 40+ years. I have stumbled and fallen more times than I can count. I know for certain that I am the ‘least of the brethren.’

So many have given themselves to me. They have been patient, caring, and even hard sometimes. But two men stand out. They’re both in Heaven. I will meet them there, and I intend to give them a proper ‘thank you.’

Thank you, brothers–

Pastor Ray Arno, my Lord, how he touched me. He gave so much to me. I miss him.

Pastor Randy Farris. He was my example. He ‘formed’ my walk when God was calling. He knew all about me before I did.

Bryan Lowe

I’ve been a full time street-preacher in San Francisco, Bible teacher at the Alaska Bible Institute, missionary to Mexico and pastor of Kachemak Bay Christian Center. I taught Song of Solomon for several years at the Alaska Bible Institute.

slowe@yahoo.com

Published by Pastor Bryan Lowe

Studying God's Word is my joy. I want you to understand that there is nothing greater than a life given to Him. I'm an ordained pastor who lives in Alaska.